General, hair

The Hair Dye Removal Journey

I had originally found the Long Hair Community because I was looking for a way to remove the old dye from my hair. The solution offered was the use of vitamin C.

My daughter wanted to put some color in her hair so I made a deal, “You help me and I’ll help you.” I put her to work crushing those little tablets into powder. 🙂 She helped me put the “dye remover” in my hair to sit for an hour.

20190220_201627

My daughter achieved a beautiful look. It looks great down or braided like this.

I, on the other hand, looked no different than I started. I wasn’t completely sure it would work as my dye was pretty old but I had read that someone else had had success with old dye so I had been hopeful.

Wondering if my daughter didn’t put it in all of my hair, I repeated the process again.

Nothing.

20190228_100053

Yesterday, I dyed my hair again. The whole reason I wanted to undye my hair was because the dyed part was warm and my natural hair is cool with natural gray highlights. I didn’t like the contrast. I dyed my hair in hopes that I would get a less drastic line between cool dyed hair and my natural hair.

Wish me luck!

 

Leave a comment